Skip navigation
Standing together to make a difference


A Brief History of OACP

The Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP): Ontario’s Police Leaders


During the 1930s, Ontario’s Chiefs of Police determined that the existing standards in policing were inadequate to meet the demands of a modern society. The challenges of emerging technology to law enforcement brought policing standards of the day into sharper focus. Chiefs of Police had played an active role in the Chief Constables' Association of Canada since its inception in 1905. However, that national association was not meeting the specific needs of provincial Chiefs.


The Police Association of Ontario (PAO), formed in 1933, complemented the Chief Constables' Association of Canada in presenting public demands to the Government of Ontario. In 1944, the PAO's perspective started to change. There was more emphasis placed on police rights and working conditions, as opposed to emphasizing the structure of the police service. By 1951, Ontario Chiefs of Police identified a need to re-establish themselves as a recognized police interest group on a provincial level and founded the Chief Constables' Association of Ontario (CCAO).

This association gradually evolved, opening membership to senior officers and police managers. The CCAO's influence was a significant factor in the establishment of the Ontario Police College in 1963, an initiative that enhanced the organization's prestige and growth. A formal name change to the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) was adopted in 1965.

In 1992, the OACP hired its first Executive Director and established a corporate headquarters.  Also in 1992, the association’s constitution was revised to give the Ontario Provincial Police and the Toronto Police Service their own representation on the Board of Directors.  In subsequent years, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and First Nations Police services also obtained dedicated places on the OACP Board of Directors.

In 1993-94, the OACP was licensed to deliver the Constable Selection System (CSS) in partnership with the Ministry of Solicitor General, a selection tool now widely used to improve the quality of candidates for the position of constable in Ontario’s police services.  Recognizing the need for Executive Training, the OACP cooperated with the Ontario Police College to conduct a police executive “Training Needs Assessment” in 2000.  This was followed by the launch of a competency-based executive development “Police Leadership Program” (PLP) with the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management (University of Toronto) in April 2001.  The PLP continues to be offered to leaders within police services.

The OACP has more than 1,200 members and represents the RCMP, the OPP, First Nations, and municipal police services.  Members are divided into six categories: Active, Honorary, Life, Associate, Associate Retired, and Affiliate. The association's members maintain a global perspective by going beyond provincial issues to address national and international concerns.

OACP Past Presidents

Police Service
2017-16 Chief Bryan Larkin Waterloo Region
2016-17 Chief Charles Bordeleau Ottawa
2015-16 Chief Jeff McGuire Niagara Region
2014-15 Chief Jennifer Evans Peel Region
2013-14 Chief Paul D. Cook North Bay
2012-13 Chief Stephen Tanner Halton Region
2011-12 Chief Matthew A. Torigian Waterloo
2010-11 Chief Robert Herman Thunder Bay
2009-10 Chief Daniel Parkinson Cornwall
2008-09 Chief Ian Davidson Greater Sudbury
2007-08 Chief William Blair Toronto
2006-07 Chief Terry McLaren Peterborough Lakefield Community
2005-06 Chief Armand La Barge York
2004-05 Chief Paul Hamelin Midland
2003-04 Chief Ean Algar Halton Region
2002-03 Chief Tom Kaye Owen Sound
2001-02 Chief Glenn Stannard Windsor
2000-01 Chief Bruce J. Davis South - Simcoe
1999-00 Chief Kenneth D. Robertson Hamilton – Wentworth Region
1998-99 Chief Julian Fantino York Region
1997-98 Chief Larry Gravill Kitchener
1996-97 Chief Trevor McCagherty Durham Region
1995-96 Chief Kevin McAlpine Peterborough
1994-95 Deputy Chief Frank Parkhouse Niagara Region
1993-94 Chief Robert Middaugh Hamilton – Wentworth Region
1992-93 Chief Alvin W. Barber Brantford
1991-92 Chief Donald Hillock York Region
1990-91 Chief Rick J. Zanibbi Sudbury Region
1989-90 Chief David J. Edwards Durham Region
1988-89 Chief W.I. James Harding Halton Region
1987-88 Chief John Hughes Windsor
1986-87 Chief Gerald S. Rice Kingston
1985-86 Chief Harold V. Basse Waterloo Region
1984-85 Chief Robert T. McEwen Sault Ste. Marie
1983-84  Deputy Chief J. Gayder Niagara Region
1982-83 Deputy Chief Clarke Lane Hamilton
1981-82 Chief Jack G. Wales Lindsay
1980-81 Chief Robert Cook Sarnia
1979-80 Chief Douglas Burrows Peel Region
1978-79 Dep/Commissioner Jim Erskine Ontario Provincial Police
1977-78 Chief Douglas T. Crosbie Belleville
1976-77 Chief Jon Jenkins Durham Region
1975-76 Chief Albert E. Shennan Niagara Region
1974-75 Chief Michael W. Solomon Fort Frances
1973-74 Chief Carl R. Johnston  Collingwood
1972-73 Chief Edward Tschirhart Barrie
1971-72 Chief Robert McCarron Guelph
1970-71 Chief David Freeman Simcoe
1969-70 Chief Wm. Jack Shrubb Peterborough
1968-69    Chief James P. Mackey Toronto
1967-68 Chief Allan Clarke Cornwall
1966-67 Chief James Torrance Sarnia
1965-66 Chief Trevor Matthews Fort Erie
1964-65 Chief Carl W. Farrow Windsor
1963-64  Chief Fred W. Oliver Oakville
1962-63 Chief A. Earl Knight London
1961-62 Chief George Kerr Brantford
1960-61 Chief Garnet McGill Toronto Township
1959-60 Chief Wilmot E. Young Brockville
1958-59 Chief John Patrick Kitchener
1957-58 Chief Leonard G. Lawrence Hamilton
1956-57 Chief Irvin L. Robertson Sault Ste. Marie
1955-56 Chief John Truaisch Kingston
1954-55 Chief Robert Alexander York Township
1953-54 Chief Reginald W. Probert Belleville
1952-53 Chief Clarence E. Bagnall Chatham
1951-52 Chief Clarence E. Bagnall Chatham


Copyright © Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police 2019
All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy